Light

 

ANGIENEERING

DESIGN WITH SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY (SOCIAL DESIGN)

Over the past 50 years the role of the designer has changed significantly. Because design today stands in full public view, it has moved from a position of relative unimportance to being one of the most important tools. Design has considerable influence on our time. It must be inter-disciplinary and flexible. The relationship between client and designer has been completely redefined. Designers are involved in systematic decisions at a much earlier stage.
Hitherto design has been understood merely as a discipline which shapes objects and media superficially. Design was utilized to make objects and media externally appealing and practical and to boost consumption. However design can – and should – be so much more. Designers can be decisively involved in economic, ecological and social change.
Our day-to-day actions manifest themselves politically, socially and culturally. Designers with social responsibility seize these processes and drive solutions with their design ideas. Our action and our decisions are an invaluable contribution. That is why we work with people who share our convictions.

 

This is how we work:

We believe integrative design is vital. That is why our work does not start with shaping but with questions about the message the respective project sends, about sensible use of materials, quantity and distribution and re-use of the products we create.
Social design means a change away from thinking about product and surface to thinking in systems (cycles). Projects with eco-social concerns require the integration of the entire product life cycle and the social environment in the design process. 80% of the environmental impacts of a product, service or system are created – or avoided – by the designer.

 

This is what we look out for:

To make sure our projects adhere to ecological and social standards, we follow a number of criteria:

 

  • Choice of ecological materials 

Paper: we work with certified, recycled or Cradle-to-Cradle® paper
Colours: we print using pigments, mixed exclusively with plant oils

 

  • Design

Full utilization of materials (to minimize waste), colour application, ecological finishing technique and re-use

 

  • Strategic decisions

Targeted monitoring of demand (to avoid over-production), grouping production, optimizing transport and logistics, process enhancement and strategic partnerships.

 

  • Climate neutral printing

Since 2012 our partner “gugler cross media” offsets printing related CO2 emissions through the offset system of the University for Life Sciences and Natural Resources, Vienna. Offset funds are invested in a participatory reforestation project in North Gondar, Ethiopia.

 

  • Cradle-to-Cradle®

Our partner “gugler cross media” follows a holistic approach and is now Cradle-to-Cradle® certified.

 

“Design is meant to solve problems.”
(Victor Papanek)

 






ANGIENEERING

Licht

 

ANGIENEERING

DESIGN MIT SOZIALER VERANTWORTUNG (SOCIAL DESIGN)

Die Rolle des Designers hat sich über die letzten 50 Jahre stark verändert. Design entwickelte sich vom unwichtigeren Teil des Geschäfts zum beinahe wichtigsten Werkzeug, da Design in direkten Kontakt mit der Öffentlichkeit steht. Design hat großen Einfluss auf unsere Zeit. Es muss interdisziplinär und flexibel sein. Die Beziehung zwischen Klient und Designer definiert sich völlig neu. Designer werden schon früher in systematische Entscheidungen eingebunden.
Bisher wurde Design fast ausschliesslich als Disziplin zur äusseren Formgebung und Oberflächengestaltung von Gebrauchsgegenständen oder Kommunikationsträgern verstanden. Diese sollten durch Design äusserlich ansprechend und praktisch sein bzw. Konsumanreize fördern. Jedoch vermag Design wesentlich mehr. Designer können massgeblich am ökonomisch, ökologisch und sozialem Wandel beteiligt sein.
Unser tägliches Tun und Handeln äußert sich politisch, gesellschaftlich und kulturell. Design mit sozialer Verantwortung greift diese Prozesse auf und versucht durch Designideen Lösungswege zu beschreiten. Unser Handeln und unsere Entscheidungen tragen einen wichtigen teil bei. Deshalb arbeiten wir mit Menschen zusammen, die unsere Überzeugung teilen.

 

SO ARBEITEN WIR:
Integratives Design ist für uns wichtig, deshalb beginnt unsere Arbeit nicht mit der Gestaltung, sondern mit der Frage um die Botschaft des Projekts und damit der Beantwortung von Fragen rund um sinnvollen Materialeinsatz, Auflage und Verteilung oder Wiederverwendung bzw. Wiederverwertung unserer Produkte. 
Sozial verantwortliches Design setzt einen Wechsel des Denkens in Produkten und Oberflächen zu einem Denken in Systemen (Zyklen) voraus. Projekte mit ökosozialen Anliegen erfordern die Integration des gesamten Produktlebenszyklusyklus und des sozialen Umfelds in den Gestaltungsprozess.
80% der Umweltauswirkungen eines Produkts, einer Leistung oder eines Systems entstehen am Reissbrett der DesignerInnen.

 

DARAUF ACHTEN WIR:
Um unsere Projekte ökologisch und sozial zu gestalten, gibt es eine Reihe an Kriterien, die wir bei jedem unserer Aufträge berücksichtigen:

Ökologische Materialien

Papier: Wir arbeiten mit zertifizierten Papieren, Recyclingprodukten oder Cradle-to-Cradle®-Papieren

Farben: Wir drucken mit Pigmenten, die mit pflanzlichen Ölen zu Farben gemischt werden 

Design optimale Bogenausnutzung (um Verschnitt zu minimieren), Farbauftrag, Ökologische Veredelungsformen, Weiterverwendung bzw. Wiederverwertung
Strategische Entscheidungen Gezielte Bedarfsabfrage (um Überproduktionen zu vermeiden), Bündelung von Aufträgen, Optimierung der Transport- und Logistikwege, Prozessoptimierung und strategische Partnerschaften.
Klimaneutrales Drucken Seit 2012 kompensiert unser Partner “gugler cross media” die durch das Drucken entstehenden CO2-Emissionen durch das CO2-Kompensationssystem der Wiener Universität für Bodenkultur. Die Kompensationsgelder werden in ein partizipatives Aufforstungsprojekt in Nord Gondar, Äthiopien.
Cradle-to-Cradle®
Unser Partner “gugler cross media” verfolgt einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz und ist seit 2012 Cradle-to-Cradle®-zertifizert.

 »Design is meant to solve problems.«
(Victor Papanek)






ANGIENEERING